Sunday, January 18, 2009

About this Blog

My journey has been long & not without many bumps in the road but I believe that I am strong enough to get through them all.

My name is Karen and I’m 24 years old and I live in Australia with my parents and dog whose name is Flea and some goldfish. I attend the local TAFE, and also study law at university. I love to read and write, watch movies, listen to music and I’m a motor sports fanatic. My favourite colour is purple. This page is designed to keep you all updated on my life and medical conditions.

I have Cerebral Palsy and have had many health issues in relation to that but I am lucky in that I am able to be pretty independent. The CP affects my legs and right arm so I use a wheelchair to get around. My biggest issues in relation to the CP are muscle pain and spasms and also the fact that one of my hips dislocates and relocates itself.

I have also recently been diagnosed with Vasculitis but we are still searching for which kind and for an effective treatment plan. The symptoms of the Vasculitis are: Entire body extremely swollen
• Burning sensation throughout body at times
• Lumps on back of legs & wrist at times
• Cough at times
• Trouble breathing at times
• Fatigue
• Pain throughout entire body
• Muscle weakness
• Blue fingers & lips at times
• Tingling in hands/feet at times
• Numbness in legs and arms at times
• Unexplainable bruising
Lack of appetite

I try not to let any of this stop me from having a normal life and this blog will be about every aspect of my life and I hope you enjoy coming along for the ride.


All 4 My Gals said...

I am a friend of Rebecca's. I look forward to getting to know you! You sound like a busy woman. :) HUGS

Jillyvanilli said...

Hi there fellow wheelie!

Mommy to those Special Ks said...

Hey Karen! I have you on my blog roll and look forward to following along!